Personal Project- Email with Mr. Ajay

Hello Zeyu,

Your questions are very thoughtful. Here are my thoughts on your question.

Since there is greater focus on recycling, that best way to manage waste is to create visibility of the quantity and the nature of waste generated by source. The data could be collected and displayed on a daily and cumulative basis. This will enable you to come up with an actionable plan. Similarly, since carbon foot print is a result of our consumption, one of the best ways to start reducing your foot print is to understand what is contributing to the carbon foot print and by how much; then you can create a plan for reducing the the carbon foot print.

Hope this is helpful.

Regards
Ajay Dalmia

DriveChange
http://www.drivechange.in
On Mon, Oct 1, 2012 at 9:12 PM, Zeyu HU wrote:
Hello Mr. Ajay,

For my Personal Project I am creating a presentation on ways of improving the environment of NIST. I have noticed how un eco-friendly NIST is when I came back from the EARCOS GIN Conference from Manila.

I have a few questions about how are some ways NIST can improve their environment:

Waste Management has always been a hard topic for me, I was at the meeting for the Roof Top Gardens and I learnt about the three R’s and how schools focuses only on the Recycle phase but not on the reducing phase. But since we are more focused on the recycling stage what are some effective ways to manage our waste?

Also you have a lot of experience working with a lot of different schools around the region, what are some change they have done to the school to make it much more environmental friendly?

Finally what is a good way to make a building have a low carbon footprint, is it buy using energy efficient light bulbs or using alternative energy sources?

Thanks for your time on answering these questions,

Zeyu Hu
NIST

From: Ajay Dalmia [mailto:drivechange@gmail.com]
Sent: 01 October 2012 18:05
To: Zeyu HU
Cc: Teresa TUNG
Subject: Re: Meeting up with Mr. Ajay

Hello Zeyu,

I am in all day training for the next three days. Please e-mail me your questions and I will do my best to provide my perspective on the same.

Regards
Ajay Dalmia

DriveChange
http://www.drivechange.in

On Mon, Oct 1, 2012 at 10:12 AM, Teresa TUNG wrote:
Hi Zeyu,

So sorry, Mr. Ajay came last Tuesday and it completely slipped my mind to put the two of you in touch. He’s out of Thailand now, but he’s great about answering emails and Skype calls, so perhaps you can get in touch with him that way.

I’ve CCed him onto this email so you may contact him directly.

Ajay, Zeyu is one of our year 11 students who is doing his Personal Project on creating an environmental recommendation for the school Board and would be very interested in speaking with you about your work.

Thank you,
Teresa

From: Zeyu HU
Sent: 30 September 2012 7:02 PM
To: Teresa TUNG
Subject: Meeting up with Mr. Ajay

Hello Ms. Teresa,

Is it possible if I can meet up with Mr. Ajay and ask him a few questions for my pp?

Zeyu

Leave a Reply

